On the hunt

I woke up early on a fine Saturday in Hong Kong. I surprisingly didn’t need an alarm clock to wake me up at 6am. I lounged around enjoying my solitude, sipped on my hot cup of coffee while sitting at the wide glass window of the hotel, enjoying the view of Hong Kong harbour.  I had enough time to watch TV but I switched it off soon as the movie The Sixth Sense was up on HBO, the only English Channel I could find. So I slipped into my comfy shorts, shirt, my scarf and gladiators. I’m off to see the very reason I was back in Hong Kong that day. I hopped on a public service coaster at the hotel to drop me off at the Tsing Yi station of the MTR. I was headed to Kowloon to find the best soup I have ever tasted. Hong Kong has one of the best mass transportations in Asia. Needless to say, it is for impatient people like me where everything is fast, on time and reliable. It’s been months since I last went to Hong Kong so my memories of the streets were a little bit jumbled. I hopped off at the Kowloon station, walked to the street market for long, looking for the fish market, I asked people but because of language barriers they kept on leading me to the wrong place. I took a cab (Thank God he knew what was I talking about) he took me to the ladies market and even told me I should have gotten off the Kowloon East station which was a few steps to where I was headed so I learned that Kowloon station was at the other side of the island.

Finally, I arrived at the Koon Thai Hai Nam Chicken. It’s a small restaurant that serve authentic Chinese and Thai food located at Bute street, corner Tsong Choi street. It’s just at the corner of the fish market. I was back for their Tom Yum Kung Soup the best spicy noodles I have ever tasted.

Fresh seafood, fresh herbs and spices, it was awesome. It was worth the difficulty I’ve had of finding the place. It was a scrumptious lunch for only HK$50. As it was served on my table, the aroma was delightful and heavenly. It was definitely the soup I was craving for. The seafood was soft with the right amount of spice that is just right to heat you up amidst the cold Hong Kong weather. I also got to meet an old Chinese lady who shared the table with me and I was more than glad to let her sit. I didn’t understand her much but she pointed on what I was eating and asked “good?” I nodded. She asked for the waitress and pointed to what was I eating and then she was served with the same soup and a plate of chicken. We spoke as though we were playing charades. She taught me how to actually drink soup Chinese style. She said I should sip it with a sound or it wouldn’t seem good. She asked me if it was good because I was sipping it silently. I didn’t understand that old lady’s name because it was purely Chinese but I must say I had the best lunch time with her.

It was the best and the only decent meal I’ve had there during that trip. I am definitely coming back for more. If you happen to be in Kowloon, I say Koon Thai Hai Nam Chicken is a must try. They also serve good pork rolls.

Leave a Reply

